RSS

#752: Make pancakes from scratch

28 Jan

I don’t know if it was the batter recipe, the plastic spatula, or the charming way the universe has of turning simple things difficult, but these were the worst flipping pancakes ever.

Literally.  They would not flip.  The batter itself tasted fine, and the variations I created (blueberry, apple-cinnamon, and chocolate chip-peanut butter chip) were delicious, but every time I tried to flip a pancake over, it ended up folding in on itself.

Also, can I tell you a secret?  Even though I know baking from scratch is supposed to be better–taste better, be better for you because you know every ingredient you’re using, make you feel better because you can be smug about being a fantastic baker–I couldn’t really tell the difference between these pancakes and every other pancake I’ve ever made using boxed mix.

Making pancakes from scratch did keep me occupied on a snow day morning, so I guess it has its place.  But next time, I’m going back to Bisquick.  Or, let’s be honest, whatever generic just-add-water brand is cheapest.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2015 in Food/Drink

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
