RSS

#769: Take steroids

04 Apr

Or, to be more accurate, steroid–singular.

Because after I took the first pill as part of 3 medications designed to finally stop the sickness I’ve had for a month now, I searched to see if you could drink alcohol while on steroids (priorities, people).

The answer was inconclusive, but it didn’t matter, because what I did find was a slew of horror stories surrounding prednisone.  Of course you can always find evidence online suggesting you shouldn’t take a substance.  I’m sure there are people writing into forums detailing how breathing oxygen caused them to lose their sex drive and gain weight.  But the stories people told about their reactions to steroids, even in low dosages, and the list of possible side effects (that includes pretty much every bad thing you could think of–as well as one funny thing: “inappropriate happiness”) terrified me enough to decide not to take another pill.

While I wouldn’t mind experiencing inappropriate happiness just to see what it’s like, I had absolutely no desire to find out whether sleeplessness, acne, changes in the way fat is spread around the body, or loss of contact with reality would happen to me.  Besides, while it’s quite possible the extremely low dose and short course I was prescribed would have no side effects, even having these in my mind was bad enough.

Though to be honest, I’m not sure how I would recognize whether my loose grasp on reality was exacerbated by the medication or purely of my own doing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 4, 2015 in Health

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
