RSS

#801: Be locked out of a hotel room

30 May

I never use the phrase, “What are the chances?!” because it doesn’t matter.  It makes no difference whether the chances are 1 in 60 or 1 in 6,000.  It will happen to me.

Like, for example, when I went swimming before getting ready for work and my room key fell into the pool.  When I got back to my room, the key didn’t work, so I figured it had been deactivated by the water, even though it had worked to unlock the gate to get back from the pool.  So I brought it downstairs, waited while the guy at the front desk activated new room keys, went back upstairs, and found that these keys didn’t work either.  Back downstairs.  Wait for the guy to get off the phone.  Get new keys and, when those don’t work either, wait for the security guy to come up to check it out.  After waiting for 10 minutes (maybe–I didn’t have my phone so didn’t know what time it was, but I was aware it was constantly creeping closer to the time I would have to leave to go to work in the next building over), I tried the key again because I can’t wait patiently for anything, and this time it worked.  Relieved I wouldn’t have to go to work in my bathing suit, I quickly took a shower.  The security guy finally showed up, I answered the door in my towel, and he saw that the key was now working.

Which means that in the same half hour I was swimming, the key device on the door just happened to stop working, causing me to spend a half hour frustrated and stressed.

Which doesn’t surprise me at all.  What does surprise me is that I ended up getting to work on time, despite the multiple visits to the front desk, the waiting, the panicking.

What are the chances?!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2015 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
