RSS

#803: UCB East

03 Jun

Witnessing some of the worst stand-up comedy (this category has a lot of competition so I can’t just give it the prize outright) I’ve ever seen, I felt uncomfortable.  After the show, I felt bad for these comedians for being so terrible.

Later, I felt dumb for feeling bad.  So they were terrible.  Do I have a monthly show at the Upright Citizens Brigade?

No.  And for good reason.  But these people do, and they probably worked very hard for it, and what right do I, as a mere paying customer, have to assume they would be embarrassed after delivering a torturous hour of horrendously unfunny stand-up that a few audience members did actually laugh at multiple times?

I’m sure they’re feeling just fine about themselves, so there’s no reason to feel bad for them.

Feel free to feel bad for my date, for being the one who made what seemed at the time like a fun suggestion of going to the show.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2015 in Theater

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “#803: UCB East

  1. Bryan The Girl

    June 9, 2015 at 6:42 am

    Kudos to you for examining why you felt so uncomfortable. That does sound rough, though, especially with a date.

     
    • fishmongerairlines

      June 9, 2015 at 7:42 am

      Well, it was one of those so-bad-it-becomes-a-story-to-tell-later situations, so I guess I should thank them. Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
