RSS

#814: Run 1000 miles

13 Aug

A milestone for any runner, getting to this number means a lot to me specifically, particularly right now.

After struggling through every step since March due to the illness I had but never really got rid of, reaching 1000 miles seemed out of reach even 2 months ago.

Each time my foot hits the pavement, I want to quit.  Every time my chest tightens up and forces me to pause, I want to give up. Whenever I see posts from my training buddy boasting about how much faster he’s getting, knowing I’m literally getting slower all the time, I want to forget the whole thing and pretend I never tried.

But of course I don’t quit, and I don’t give up, and I don’t stop trying.  Because I don’t know how to do those things.  That’s as good a reason as any, right?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 13, 2015 in Sports

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
