RSS

#833: See Jekyll & Hyde

19 Oct

The trouble with only knowing certain musicals through their songs via the piano music you had growing up is that you only know them through their songs via the piano music.

So, for Jekyll & Hyde, for example, I only knew there were 2 different “love” interests, not that–SPOILER–one isn’t exactly a love interest at all, or at least not in the traditional sense.  I didn’t know what happened at the end, and I couldn’t have known how cheesy a song sung by one person representing 2 people at the same time could be when performed by a community theater in a small town in Maine.

Despite all of that, I enjoyed the show, especially since I’d been wanting to see it ever since I played the piano music when I was a kid. It was depressing, sure, and it was clear some of the scenes may have been slightly different with a professional production.  But it was also entertaining, and the performers were talented, and it was a terrific way to pass the time while staying in a small town in Maine.

And, best of all, I now can say I know the musical.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 19, 2015 in Theater

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
