RSS

#839: Be unable to open a jar

06 Nov

Yes, yes, stereotypical woman without enough arm strength to open a jar.

What you don’t know is that you wouldn’t have been able to open it either.

And yet, even though I knew that, even though I understood this stupid lid was so tightly secured to the jar that even after googling “open jar” and trying all 6 methods suggested in the “6 Ways to Open a Difficult Jar” wikiHow article it wouldn’t budge, I still felt sad about this.

Don’t get me wrong; I was angry about this, too.  I was hungry, and I had just finished making zucchini noodles with my wonderful but unfortunately named veggetti, and I ended up having to put on pants, go out to the grocery store, and buy a new jar of marinara sauce before I could eat.  So I was fuming.

But I was also sad that I was all alone for this, that no one could see how hard I worked at that jar–that no one would know my hands are still sore today from the useless effort.  I was sad that no one could share in my frustration, and no one could accompany me to the store.  And I was sad that I felt sad about it because why should I?

Yes, yes, stereotypical woman feeling guilty about the one moment where she doesn’t feel like being independent picked out from the countless others where she loves that she doesn’t need a man to validate her existence.

What, you don’t think that’s a recognizable stereotype yet and it may still be a few years before a woman’s independence is a defining trait?

Fine, I’ll go back to the one where I can’t open the jar.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2015 in People

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
