RSS

#890: Watch The Guest

26 Apr

On the one hand, I didn’t have the visceral (negative) reaction to this movie that my viewing partner did. On the other hand, I really didn’t like it.

Maybe it’s a genre thing–a favorable review¬†says it’s “the ultimate genre movie love letter”–but whatever genre this is, whether its horror, or action, or thriller, or sci-fi, or something else, I just didn’t get it. I didn’t get why all of the characters acted so stupidly the entire time. I didn’t get why the concept, one that could be unique and intriguing, wasn’t developed at all. I didn’t get why the movie had been recommended as a Netflix offering you have to see. And I didn’t get why critics on Rotten Tomatoes have combined to give it a 90% rating.

I didn’t have to physically remove myself from the room afterward and go outside for a walk to get over the anger I felt at having spent an hour and a half hoping for it to get better as my viewing partner, but I did understand why he hated it so much. Because I hated it also.

Again, I’m no film expert. All I know is what I like when I’m presented with it. The Guest was not it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2016 in Movies

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
